Posted on

Week 8 Menu

I decided to pick meals from the two Cooking Light cookbooks I got at Goodwill last week,

for this week’s menu.

The following came from the 1996 Cooking Light Cookbook:

Image

Page 26: Sausage Cheese Muffins

I will modify these to be Turkey Cheese Muffins. I will make two batches, one for my husband and one for myself. Once cooled these can put put in a freezer bag and warmed up easily. I will not put onions or peppers in his since he does not care for those ingredients. I will use olive oil instead of margarine, wheat flour instead of all purpose and 2% milk instead of buttermilk. He will have a serving of two and I will have a serving of one.

Page 64: Lemon Chicken and Potatoes

I will stay true to this recipe and I could not find Chablis so I am trying Chardonnay.

This will be my Husband’s dinner. For my dinner I am sticking with my Tilapia filet with green beans and either brown rice, potato or 1/2 cup serving of Annie’s organic Macaroni & Cheese.

Page 126: Baked Vegetable Macaroni and Cheese

This is my husband’s lunch. I will get to my lunch next. I will omit the onions since he does not like them. I am using whole wheat flour and macaroni instead.

Page 174: Spicy Sausage and Bean Bake

This is my lunch. Turkey Sausage. I will not use sour cream because I do not like it. I will stick pretty true to this recipe, I do not really have to modify it.

Image

Page 238: Honey Lemon Cake

I will use wheat flour and Greek Yogurt instead of sour cream. I will use honey instead of sugar and also honey and lemon juice instead of powdered sugar and lemon juice for glaze.

I am also going to make a batch of my Healthy Chocolate Chip cookies for my husband’s work potluck. The recipe for that is in the recipe section on this blog.

Image

Finally I love iced coffee but I wanted a cheaper and healthier version than what I have been drinking. You can make your own coffee concentrate. I take a two liter bottle and I add a cup of grounds to it and fill it all the way up with filtered water. I give it a good shake and sit it on the counter overnight.

In another container I use a fine mesh strainer with a coffee filter and I filter the grounds from the liquid. If sealed in a air tight container this concentrate can last up to two weeks in your refrigerator.

I put 12 ounces of coffee in blender, I also add a 1/2 cup of original almond milk. I put in a tablespoon of Hershey’s unsweetened cocoa powder and I add a tablespoon of honey. Blend to mix and pour over ice. This version is not too sweet and not too strong. It is just right for me. I also added a 1/4 teaspoon of real vanilla extract. I use a cheap French roast coffee from Winco.

This recipe is 100 calories and 3 grams fat , No HFCS!

It is a bit more natural and healthier than what I was drinking that is for sure!

That is the conclusion of the Week 8 Menu. 🙂

If anyone would like a recipe for any of these items, I will give it to you upon request.

About kimberlyhoneykat

I am a hard working woman with a hard working husband and we want to get sexy again together. I love to read, watch movies, reality tv and cook.

Leave a Reply

